NBA admits incorrect no-call by referees on final play of Lakers’ overtime win over Timberwolves

ProBasketballTalk

On the final play of the Lakers’ overtime win over the Timberwolves on Wednesday, Minnesota had a sideline out of bounds opportunity, trailing by two with o.3 seconds left.

That’s not enough time to get an actual shot off, but it is enough for a tip towards the basket — provided the pass can reach the intended player, without that player being fouled before it gets there.

[nbcsports_video src=https://www.youtube.com/embed/OLXvljxmw2s?rel=0 width=620 height=349]

The NBA’s Last Two Minute report says that Andrew Wiggins was indeed fouled before the ball arrived, which presumably would have given him a chance to tie it at the free throw line had the referees blown the whistle.

“After inbound, but prior to the touch, Clarkson grabs Wiggins’ arm, preventing him from catching the pass,” the report says.

The problem here is that there’s just such a small chance of Wiggins being able to do anything in that…

View original post 53 more words

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s